Medellin, Colombia is a city governed by a republican democratic system as stated in the Colombian Constitution of 1991, with decentralized government. Administration is shared by the Mayor of Medellin and the Municipal Council, both elected by popular vote .

The municipality is made up of official departments (secretarías) including department for social mobility, urban culture, social development, education, evaluation and control, government, resources, public works, administrative services, environment, women, transport, a general department, and a private department.

The city belongs to the Medellín Metropolitan Area, which is made up of ten municipalities. Medellín is divided into six zones and these are subdivided into 16 comunas (communes). The barrios and urban institutional areas make up the communes. More than 249 neighborhood and five townships are part of the municipality of Medellin.

Copyright © 2016 All Rights Reserved.